Skip to main content
This section is included in your selections.

A. Created: Pursuant to Title 10, Chapter 9a of the Utah Code Annotated, there is hereby created a planning commission consisting of seven (7) members who shall be nominated by the mayor and appointed by the city council from among the qualified electors of the city, and who shall remain at all times qualified electors of the city.

B. Appointment; Vacancies; Compensation: The mayor shall nominate a name for each vacant seat and the council shall, by majority vote, approve or deny the appointment of the nominee to fill the seat. Beginning on January 1, 2020, and thereafter, the term of office for each member shall be two (2) years. Four (4) members shall be appointed to two (2) year terms beginning on January 1 of even years, and the terms of three (3) members shall begin on January 1 of odd years. Vacancies occurring otherwise than through the expiration of terms shall be filled by appointment as set forth in this subsection for the remaining balance of the term for the vacant seat. Members shall be selected without respect to political affiliations and shall serve without compensation, except for reasonable expenses.

C. Removal From Office: Any planning commission member may:

1. Be removed from office for cause prior to the expiration of the term for which the member was appointed upon majority vote of the city council; or

2. Be subject to forfeiture of membership on the commission, upon a majority vote of the council, for failing to attend two (2) or more commission meetings without advance notice in one (1) calendar year or failing to attend three (3) or more commission meetings in one (1) calendar year.

D. Officers; Organization; Records; Meetings: Beginning on the first regularly scheduled meeting of the planning commission in 2020, and annually thereafter, the planning commission shall select from its membership a chairperson and vice chairperson, who shall serve for one (1) year and until their successors are elected as set forth herein. The chairperson or vice chairperson, in the absence of the chairperson, shall preside at all meetings but continue to vote and exercise all rights of a member. The commission shall keep a public record of its proceedings, and all meetings shall be open to the public in accordance with the Utah Open and Public Meetings Act. (Ord. 2019-12-001 § 2 (Exh. A), 12-5-2019; amd. Ord. 2020-03-006 § 2 (Exh. A), 3-26-2020; Ord. 2020-05-005 § 2 (Exh.), 5-21-2020)